Member Organizations

Caritas Asia is made up of 25 Member Organizations, of national character, mandated by their respective Episcopal conferences or Ecclesiastical authorities, responsible for the local Church’s socio-pastoral works. Each Member Organization maintains its own individual autonomy in its relationships and operating procedures within the legal framework of the global Caritas confederation. As an integral part of Caritas Asia, Member Organisations have the responsibility to take part in the creation of the organizational structures and programmes of Caritas Asia. Member Organisations also have the responsibility to contribute towards the development and fulfillment of the strategic direction of Caritas Asia.

Member Organizations act in accordance with the Catholic Social Teaching, the Canon Law, the requirements of the competent Ecclesiastical authorities, and the norms of behavior and criteria defined jointly within the Caritas Confederation with regard to international and regional cooperation. They accept coordination by Caritas Asia in relation to operations at the regional level and in terms of representation by Caritas Asia at inter-denominational and regional levels. Member Organizations jointly finance the bodies and activities of Caritas Asia, as they do with Caritas Internationalis.